Book Review: The Picture of Dorian Gray

The Picture of Dorian Gray

Whenever I read the classics, I always ask my self, “am I capable enough to rate and review this piece?” or “can I give it some justice?”. In all honesty, I’m not really sure. I hope that my honest opinion will suffice.

What I really like about this book is the build-up – how Oscar Wilde sets up the tone and the events throughout the book. At the start, Dorian’s innocence and purity brims with life and hunger for new things. It is such a clean slate, a fresh approach. I am really shocked because I’m expecting the madness to start right away. But the madness starts to creep up on you, little by little until it peaks.

This is the first Oscar Wilde novel I have read and it is deep, dark, and wicked – with an integration of art plus morality. People say that this is personal to Wilde because of his circumstances. I really need to research more about this. I need facts and his backstory.

Lastly, I really find it cool how The picture of Dorian Gray is the center of it all – it started with that painting and ends with it.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Picture of Dorian Gray

  1. I’ve not read many classics, usually put-off by the style, but Dorian Gray was – as JD says – the one I liked. Such an interesting idea and, though it has been years since I read it, I still remember that I read it in quick succession. I’m tempted to try Dracula and Frankenstein next. The genres make me more inclined to give them a go.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

